Word and Knowledge

Die Untoten. Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction
Das mobile "Archiv des Untoten", Foto: Thomas Aurin

The Undead

Mobile installation “Archive of the Undead”

During the three-day congress “The Undead. Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction” at Kampnagel in Hamburg in May 2011, some 80 scholars, researchers and artists gathered in the rooms of a film set to present and discuss the fragile condition between life and death. In this theatrical venue of scientific popularization, the participants of the congress discussed various persons, manners of speaking, scientific cultures and speculative scenarios to define what was still/already alive and what was still/already dead.

In what way do scientists, artists, doctors and those, who have dealt with near-death experiences, talk about the threshold separating life and death? At the place where medicine, technology, ethics, philosophy and pop culture intersect, the congress collected stories, lectures, symbols, images and cyphers for an archive. The result is a mobile archive unit and installation “The Archive of the Undead” which includes video material selected from over 60 hours of filming.

The “Archive of the Undead” is an installation by Hannah Hurtzig, Philipp Hochleichter and Florian Stirnemann.


When does a life begin?
When does a life end?
And who decides?


Our films, novels, feature pages and bestseller lists present the dreams and nightmares of an undead world. At the same time, modern biotechnology and its capability to intervene in life processes have overturned age-old concepts of life and death and reshaped our notion of what human life is.

The human, who dies nowadays, is not really dead
Molecular biology and modern apparatus-based medicine have blurred what were once irrefutable boundaries. In laboratories, technicians are creating "frozen angels" (embryos produced through reproductive medicine) and synthesizing cell tissue at a breathtaking pace. Are these new life forms alive or dead, not yet alive or not completely dead? How does one convey the state of a patient in a vegetative coma? And what about human bodies from which we extract organs and tissue – are these patients truly dead only because a doctor has declared them brain dead? Modern-day biotechnological capabilities point to a new type of "life after death". It seems that the human body is a variable that can be deformed and improved to an unlimited degree. The age-old dream of immortality has been revitalized in a new biotechnological form.

The zombie of the 21st century
The zombie is iconic for "undead life" with all its vital impairments. Zombies featured in George A. Romero's famous "Night of the Living Dead" of 1968, only one year after the world's first human heart transplant and concurrent to the announcement of brain death criteria which would allow doctors to clinically determine the onset of death. In the 20th century, the zombie – perhaps the worst possible scourge for the life sciences – became a figure of social criticism of the (colonial) exploitation of the body, the dispossession of the soul and the alienation of work. Who or what does the zombie of the 21st century represent?
 
Who ultimately controls the undead?
The power over life and death is now transformed into the control of the undead. But who determines what is undead? Who stands to profit from the undead? What rights do the undead have?
Pop culture has offered many answers to questions that are now being debated in political and scientific circles long before they were asked. The science fiction and horror genres have accompanied the development of the life sciences and biotechnology since their inception. Films, music, comics, illustrations, TV shows and YouTube clips present visions, nightmares, explanations, myths and parodies of the conceivability and viability of the undead.

Congress – Three-day Laboratory and Showroom for Theory and Practice
The project "The Undead. Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction" by the Federal Cultural Foundation in cooperation with Kampnagel in Hamburg and the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities presented images, stories, research findings and speculations from the unchartered zones – the threshold between life and death. The conference invited experts from the field of biotechnology along with bioethicists, philosophers, caregivers, artists, filmmakers, media producers and pop icons. They addressed a variety of issues in the rooms of a film set – locations where the undead are typically produced, e.g. a hospital, cinema, cemetery and laboratory. There they engaged in scientific, political, ethical and pop-cultural discourse in discussions, lectures, presentations and experiments.

The Archive of the Undead
Sixty hours of recordings and photos of the lectures, discussions and performances of the congress have now been condensed into a mobile and online archive. At the mobile installation, visitors can listen to the philosopher Petra Gehring speaking about deregulated death, the doctor Andreas Zieger speaking on the death politics of modern medicine, the literary scholars Joseph Vogl and Philipp Ekardt discussing undead figures in the monetary economy, the psychologist and nurse Roberto Rotondo reporting on brain-dead patients from a caregiver’s point of view, the ethnologist Michi Knecht pondering the social life of deep-frozen embryos, the writer Mark Ravenhill speaking on the fatal narration of individuals with HIV, and the biogerontologist Aubrey de Grey and the bioethicist Andy Miah examining the promise and horror of eternal life. The mobile archive made its debut at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities on 21 January 2012 and started touring through Germany in October 2012.

Directed and produced by:
Hannah Hurtzig / Mobile Akademie Berlin
Philipp Hochleichter, Berlin

Scientific curators:
Dr. Karin Harrasser, media and cultural science researcher, Cologne
Dr. Oliver Müller, medical ethicist and philosopher, Freiburg im Breisgau
Georg Seeßlen/Markus Metz, writers and film critics, Munich

A project by the German Federal Cultural Foundation in cooperation with Kampnagel Internationale Kulturfabrik and Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Date
13.03.2014 - 05.04.2014 Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Halle an der Saale Mobile Installation "The Archive of the Undead"
21.01.2012 Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Berlin The Archive of the Undead: Presentation of a mobile archive and website
12.05.2011 - 14.05.2011 Kampnagel, Hamburg Congress and Mise-en-scène

Wort und Wissen

Die Untoten. Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction
Das mobile "Archiv des Untoten", Foto: Thomas Aurin

Die Untoten

Das mobile "Archiv des Untoten"

Der dreitägige Kongress „Die Untoten. Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction“ im Mai 2011 auf Kampnagel in Hamburg versammelte 80 Wissenschaftler/innen und Künstler/innen, um die verletzlichen Zustände zwischen Leben und Tod in den Kulissen eines Filmsets zu präsentieren und zu diskutieren. Der Kongress inszenierte einen theatralen Ort der Wissenschaftspopularisierung, der anhand verschiedener Personen und Redeweisen, Wissenschaftskulturen und spekulativen Fiktionen definierte, was noch/schon lebendig und was noch/schon tot ist.

Auf welche Art und Weise sprechen Betroffene, Wissenschaftler, Künstler und Ärzte über die Schwelle zwischen Leben und Tod? An den Schnittstellen von Medizin, Technik, Ethik, Philosophie und Popkultur sammelte der Kongress Erzählungen, Vorträge, Zeichen, Bilder und Chiffren für ein Archiv. Aus 60 aufgezeichneten Stunden entstand schließlich die mobile Archiveinheit und Installation "Das Archiv des Untoten".

Darin sprechen u.a. die Philosophin Petra Gehring über den deregulierten Tod, der Mediziner Andreas Zieger zur Todespolitik moderner Medizin, die Literaturwissenschaftler Joseph Vogl und Philipp Ekardt über untote Figuren in der Geldwirtschaft, die Ethnologin Michi Knecht zum sozialen Leben von Tiefkühlembryonen, der Autor Mark Ravenhill über die fatale Narration von Menschen mit HIV, sowie der Biogerontologe Aubrey de Grey und der Bioethiker Andy Miah über Verheißungen und Schrecken eines ewigen Lebens.

Vom 13. März bis 5. April 2014 konnte das mobile "Archiv des Untoten" im Foyer der Kulturstiftung des Bundes am Franckeplatz in Halle an der Saale besichtigt werden.

Das "Archiv des Untoten" ist eine Installation von Hannah Hurtzig, Philipp Hochleichter und Florian Stirnemann.

Wann beginnt ein Leben?
Wann endet ein Leben?
Und wer bestimmt darüber?

Eine Welt von "Untoten" bevölkert als Traum oder Alptraum unsere Filme, Romane, Comics, Feuilletons und Bestsellerlisten. Gleichzeitig schaffen die modernen Biotechnologien und ihre Möglichkeiten, in Lebensprozesse einzugreifen, derzeit eine Umbruchssituation und verändern unsere Vorstellungen von dem, was eine menschliche Existenz ausmacht.

Wann beginnt ein Leben?

Der Mensch, der heute stirbt, ist nicht wirklich tot
Die Molekularbiologie und die moderne Apparatemedizin verwischen vormals unhinterfragte Grenzen. Im Labor werden "frozen angels" (überzählige Embryonen aus der Reproduktionmedizin) hergestellt und Zellgewebe beliebig oft synthetisiert. Sind diese neue Lebensformen lebendig oder tot, noch-nicht-lebendig oder noch-nicht-ganz tot? Wie ist die Daseinsform eines Wachkomapatienten zu beschreiben? Und was sind das für Körper, denen Organe und Gewebe entnommen werden – sind sie gegen alle Intuition tot, nur weil es das Hirntodkriterium so festlegt? Die heutigen biotechnologischen Möglichkeiten verweisen auf eine neue Art des "Lebens nach dem Tod". Unser Körper scheint sich zu einer grenzenlos verformbaren und verbesserungsfähigen Variable zu entwickeln. Der alte Traum von Unsterblichkeit lebt in einer biotechnisch aktualisierten Form neu auf.

Der Zombie des 21. Jahrhunderts
Das prägnante Bild für "untotes Leben" ist der Zombie mit seinen vitalen Beeinträchtigungen. Als Filmfigur trat er in seiner modernen Form 1968 in George A. Romeros berühmtem "Night of the Living Dead" auf – ein Jahr nach der weltweit ersten Herztransplantation an einem Menschen und zeitgleich mit der Formulierung des Hirntodkriteriums als Grundlage für die klinische Entscheidung über Leben oder Tod. Der Zombie als der größte anzunehmende Unfall aller Life Science war im 20. Jahrhundert eine sozialkritische Figur der (kolonialen) Ausbeutung des Körpers, der Enteignung der Seele und der Entfremdung der Arbeit. Wer oder was aber ist der Zombie des 21. Jahrhunderts?

Wer bestimmt über das Untote?
Die Herrschaft über Leben und Tod ist zu einer Herrschaft über das Untote geworden: Wer bestimmt, was untot ist? Wer profitiert vom Untoten? Und welche Rechte haben "Untote"? Die Pop-Kultur hat auf manche der Fragen, die Politik und Wissenschaft heute beschäftigen, schon Antworten gegeben, bevor sie gestellt waren. Science Fiction und Horror begleiten die Entwicklung der Life Sciences wie der Biotechnologie seit deren Anfängen. Kino, Musik, Comics, Illustration, Fernsehen und YouTube liefern Visionen, Alpträume, Erklärungen, Mythisierungen und Karnevalisierungen der neuen Denk- und Machbarkeiten.

Der Kongress: Ein dreitägiger Arbeits- und Schauraum für Theorie und Praxis
Das Projekt "Die Untoten. Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction" der Kulturstiftung des Bundes in Kooperation mit Kampnagel Hamburg und der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften präsentierte Bilder, Erzählungen, Forschungen und Spekulationen aus den Zonen des Unbestimmten, dem Zwischenbereich von Leben und Tod. Experten aus dem Feld der Biotechnologie waren ebenso vertreten wie Bioethiker, Philosophen, Praktiker aus dem Pflegebereich, Künstler, Film- und Medienschaffende und Popikonen. Sie trafen zu verschiedenen Fragestellungen in den Räumen eines Filmsets (Krankenhaus, Cinema, Friedhof und Labor) aufeinander. An diesen typischen Orten der Produktion des Untoten wurden die wissenschaftlichen, politischen, ethischen und populärkulturellen Diskurse in Gesprächen, Vorträgen, Präsentationen, Performances und Experimenten miteinander konfrontiert.

Regie & Produktion:
Hannah Hurtzig / Mobile Akademie Berlin
Philipp Hochleichter, Berlin

Wissenschaftliche Leitung:
Dr. Karin Harrasser, Medien- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Köln
Dr. Oliver Müller, Medizinethiker und Philosoph, Freiburg im Breisgau
Georg Seeßlen/Markus Metz, Autoren und Filmkritiker, München

Ein Projekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes in Kooperation mit Kampnagel Internationale Kulturfabrik und der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

Das Video "Die Untoten. Life Sciences & Pulp Fiction" zeigt Impressionen des Kongresses im Mai 2011 auf Kampnagel Hamburg.

Termine
13.03.2014 - 05.04.2014 Haus der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Halle an der Saale Tour des mobilen Archivs
31.08.2013 - 08.09.2013 Zentrum für Kulturwissenschaftliche Forschung Lübeck (ZKFL), Lübeck Tour des mobilen Archivs
14.05.2013 - 19.05.2013 Kampnagel, Hamburg Tour des mobilen Archivs
07.01.2013 - 17.01.2013 Uni Witten/Herdecke, Witten Tour des mobilen Archivs
08.11.2012 - 29.11.2012 The Brno House of Arts, Brno (Tschechische Republik) Tour des mobilen Archivs
23.10.2012 - 04.11.2012 Deutsches Hygiene Museum, Dresden Tour des mobilen Archivs
21.01.2012 Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Berlin Das Archiv des Untoten: Präsentation einer mobilen Archiveinheit und Webseite
12.05.2011 - 14.05.2011 Kampnagel, Jarrestrasse 20, Hamburg Kongress und Inszenierung