Bauhaus-Archiv Museum für Gestaltung Berlin

Bauhaus Today Fund

The contemporary relevance of the Bauhaus – funded by the International thematic focus Bauhaus 2019

In 2016 the Federal Cultural Foundation established the application-based Bauhaus Today Fund to emphasise the contemporary relevance of the Bauhaus one hundred years after its founding. Institutions in all artistic areas are invited to apply for funding to present their own unique view of the Bauhaus – be it in the form of participative, theoretical, visionary, critical, artistic or investigative projects. The intention is not to merely celebrate the iconic Bauhaus designers or their characteristic Bauhaus style, but to explore the contemporary relevance of the historic Bauhaus, its ideas and methods.

It is quite possible that the Bauhaus remains a paragon of modern design because it advocated exceedingly liberal-minded processes of education and production. “The New Man – The New City – The New World”: such utopian thinking influenced all fields of activity at the Bauhaus – from the tubular steel chair to the shoe last factory – with the aim of democratising design in practically every area of life. The Bauhaus’ desire to innovate is legendary. It preserved its momentum by means of a communication design which strived to dynamically surmount the boundaries between artistic disciplines. Artists in the fields of painting, graphic design, architecture, typography, theatre, media art, urban planning, product design, together with engineers and researchers in science and technology, regularly collaborated in one location, discussing, debating, and on occasion, jointly failing, only to take up a fresh approach. The Bauhaus was a workshop of the future, operated with the greatest degree of intellectual and methodical openness. It was a place where designers, like-minded collaborators and guests from around the world would quite naturally come and go.

Of the many topics the Bauhaus explored, hardly any have lost their relevance. In fact, the discourse today continues to be dominated by questions regarding how and in what kind of world we want to live, learn, work, share and shape our coexistence in the future. The aim is to address these questions from the perspective of a society, grappling with the challenges of migration, digitalisation, globalisation and rapidly dwindling natural resources.

The jury

The executive committee of the Federal Cultural Foundation awards funding based on recommendations provided by a jury of experts. The jury is comprised of the following members:

Regina Bittner is the deputy director and head of the academy of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation with expertise in architectural and urban research. She has served as curator for numerous exhibitions on modern architecture, urban and cultural history for the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation and other institutions. Her activities focus on international architectural and urban research, modernity and migration, cultural history of modernity and heritage studies.

Florian Ebner, now the director of the Photographic Collection at the Museum Folkwang, has served as director of the Museum of Photography in Braunschweig and acting director of the Photographic Collection at the Berlinische Galerie. From 2000 to 2007 he taught Photography at the Academy of Visual Arts in Leipzig. Florian Ebner has curated numerous exhibitions on modern and contemporary photography. Most recently he was the artistic director of the German pavilion at the Venice Biennale 2015.

Wilfried Kuehn is a freelance architect and co-founder of the architectural office Kühn Malvezzi in Berlin. Among its most prominent projects, Kühn Malvezzi designed the exhibition architecture of the Documenta XI, the extension of the Museum für Gegenwart Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin, the lobby of the Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt and the architecture of the exhibitions “The Visions of Arnold Schönberg”, “Dream Factory Communism” and “I Like America” at the Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt, “Matisse” at the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen in Düsseldorf and “Cult Image” at the Städel Museum in Frankfurt, among others.

Bettina Wagner-Bergelt is the deputy ballet director of the Bayerisches Staatsballett and freelance curator. She was a member of the artistic executive board at the Theater am Turm in Frankfurt am Main, deputy director of the Music, Theatre and Dance Department at the Cultural Affairs Office in Munich, and the curator for both the DANCE and NEW DANCE festival of Munich. She worked as co-curator for numerous exhibition projects including “Watercolours” by John Cage and the Forsythe project “Proliferation and Perfect Disorder”, presented at the Pinakothek der Moderne in 2006.

Bauhaus-Archiv Museum für Gestaltung Berlin

Fonds Bauhaus heute

Antragsoffener Fonds – gefördert im Programm "Bauhaus 2019"

Um einhundert Jahre nach seiner Gründung ein bundesweites Signal für die zeitgenössische Relevanz des Bauhaus zu geben, richtete die Kulturstiftung des Bundes 2016 den antragsoffenen Fonds Bauhaus heute ein. Damit lädt sie Institutionen aller Sparten zur Beantragung von Projekten ein, die eine eigene – mal partizipative oder theoretische, mal visionäre oder kritische, mal künstlerische oder investigative – Sicht auf das Bauhaus vorbringen. Nicht um das Zelebrieren von Design-Ikonen oder Bauhaus-typische Formensprachen soll es hier gehen, sondern um die Aktualität der Ideen und Methoden des historischen Bauhaus.

Wenn das Bauhaus aus der Geschichte der Moderne bis heute heraussticht, dann weil es das Modell für außerordentlich offene Bildungs- und Produktionsprozesse darstellte. »Der Neue Mensch – Die Neue Stadt – Die Neue Welt«: Dieses Utopie-freudige Denken prägte vom Stahlrohr-Stuhl bis zur Schuhleisten-Fabrik sämtliche Tätigkeitsfelder des Bauhaus und sollte den Anspruch einer Demokratisierung der Gestaltung in nahezu allen Lebensbereichen zur Geltung bringen. Dieser Drang nach dem Neuen ist für das Bauhaus legendär. Seine Schubkraft erhielt er durch ein Kommunikations-Design, das die Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen dynamisch zu überwinden verstand: Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus den Bereichen Malerei, Grafik, Architektur, Typografie, Theater, Medienkunst, Städtebau, Produktdesign aber auch Vertreter aus Wissenschaft und Technik arbeiteten regelmäßig miteinander und an einem Ort, tauschten sich aus, stritten sich, scheiterten gemeinsam und nahmen neuen Anlauf. Das Bauhaus war eine mit großer intellektueller und methodischer Offenheit geführte Zukunftswerkstatt; in ihr gingen Gestalter, Mitstreiter und Gäste aus aller Welt wie selbstverständlich ein und aus.

Kaum eines der Themen, die das Bauhaus gesetzt hat, hat bis heute an Relevanz verloren. Im Gegenteil: Die Fragen, wie und in welchem Umfeld wir in Zukunft lernen, arbeiten, leben, uns austauschen und unser Miteinander gestalten wollen, sind gleichbleibend aktuell. Sie alle gilt es aus der Perspektive einer Gesellschaft aufzugreifen, die von den Herausforderungen der Migration, Digitalisierung, Globalisierung und Ressourcenverknappung betroffen ist.

Die Jury

Über die Förderung entscheidet der Vorstand der Kulturstiftung des Bundes auf der Grundlage der Empfehlungen einer Fachjury. Als Mitglieder der Jury wurden berufen:

Regina Bittner ist stellvertretende Direktorin und Leiterin der Akademie der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau mit Schwerpunkt Architektur- und Stadtforschung. Für die Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau sowie weitere Institutionen kuratierte sie zahlreiche Ausstellungen zur Architektur, Stadt- und Kulturgeschichte der Moderne. Zu ihren Arbeitsschwerpunkten gehören internationale Architektur- und Stadtforschung, Moderne und Migration, Kulturgeschichte der Moderne und heritage studies.

Florian Ebner leitet die Fotografie-Abteilung im Pariser Centre Pompidou und war davor Leiter der fotografischen Sammlung im Museum Folkwang und des Museums für Photographie Braunschweig und führte kommissarisch die Fotografische Sammlung der Berlinischen Galerie. Von 2000 bis 2007 lehrte er Fotografie an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig. Florian Ebner hat zahlreiche Ausstellungen zur Fotografie der Moderne und der zeitgenössischen Fotografie kuratiert. Zuletzt war er künstlerischer Leiter des deutschen Pavillons der Venedig Biennale 2015.

Wilfried Kuehn lebt als freischaffender Architekt und Mitbegründer des Architekturbüros Kühn Malvezzi in Berlin. Kühn Malvezzi realisierte unter anderem die Ausstellungsarchitektur der Documenta 11, den Erweiterungsbau des Museums für Gegenwart Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin, das Foyer der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt sowie die Ausstellungsgestaltung für die folgenden Ausstellungen: »Die Visionen des Arnold Schönberg«, »Traumfabrik Kommunismus« und »I like America« in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, »Matisse« in der Kunstsammlung Nordrhein Westfalen Düsseldorf sowie »Kult-Bild« im Städel Museum Frankfurt u.v.m.

Bettina Wagner-Bergelt, stellvertretende Ballettdirektorin Bayerisches Staatsballett und freie Kuratorin. Sie war Mitglied des künstlerischen Direktoriums am Theater am Turm in Frankfurt am Main, stellvertretende Leiterin für den Bereich Musik, Theater und Tanz im Kulturreferat München und Kuratorin für die Festivals DANCE und NEW DANCE-Festival der Stadt München. Sie hat zahlreiche Ausstellungsprojekte – darunter WATERCOLOURS von John Cage sowie das Forsythe-Projekt PROLIFERATION AND PERFECT DISORDER in der Pinakothek der Moderne 2006 kuratorisch mitverantwortet.