Theatre and Movement

Foto: Benjamin Krieg


A collective meditation on a well-kept secret

Hardly anything so aptly defines capitalist society, nor has such a divisive influence as the inequitable distribution of property. Property confers power, creates barriers and reduces participation. When discussing the subject of property, one must take private, familial, social, local and global aspects into account. Even art production is by no means detached from economic conditions and matters of property. In the background, there is always self-exploitation, subsidisation, cultivation of privileges and old-age poverty. Who can afford to be an artist?
The performance collective She She Pop plans to address the subject of property in collaboration with a chorus of artists, formed on location at co-producing theatres in various German and European cities. At each theatre, She She Pop will create a unique production in which they perform together with the chorus of the hosting institution. In the lead-up to each performance, She She Pop will develop a series of questions, as well as musical, scenic and choreographic approaches. As they tour from venue to venue, they will present these questions and respective answers, thereby allowing people to speak to one another, though they have never actually met. Each venue decides on the content. In former socialistic cities like Leipzig, Lublin or Sofia, the direction may strongly differ from that held by the apparent winners of capitalism, e.g. Munich, Stuttgart or Basel.
First showings took place at Theaterformen 2017 in Hanover and subsequently also at the Konfrontacje Teatralne Festival in Lublin and the ACT Independent Theatre Festival Sofia. Now ORATORIO returns from its tour through Europe, in the course of which it gathered momentary impressions from other economic microcosms at each stop along the way, which now evolve into a great multi-voice meditation.

Artistic director: She She Pop
Sets: Sandra Fox
Costumes: Lea Søvsø
Music: Max Knoth
Artistic advice: Ruschka Steininger
Assistance: Laia Ribera
Technical Director & Lightdesign: Sven Nichterlein
Production: Anne Brammen
Tour organisation: Tina Ebert

By and with: Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf with the chosen chorus from Hanover.

09.06.2017 - 11.06.2017 Festival Theaterformen, Hannover Showing
09.02.2018 - 12.02.2018 HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin Performances
09.03.2018 - 14.03.2018 Schauspiel Leipzig, Leipzig Performances
23.03.2018 - 25.03.2018 HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin Performances
18.04.2018 - 20.04.2018 Kammerspiele, Munich Performances
24.05.2018 - 26.05.2018 Kaserne Basel, Basel Performances
23.06.2018 - 24.06.2018 Schauspiel Stuttgart, Stuttgart Performances

Additional dates and venues:

Festival Konfrontationen, Lublin: residence, showing, 6./7. Oct. 2017
ACT Festival, Sofia: residence and showing, 14. Nov. 2017

In planning:
Onassis Foundation, Athens: performances
Kampnagel Hamburg: performances

Bühne und Bewegung

Foto: Benjamin Krieg

Oratorium

Kollektive Andacht zu einem wohlgehüteten Geheimnis

Kaum etwas ist so konstituierend für die kapitalistische Gesellschaft, nichts wirkt so trennend wie die ungleiche Verteilung von Eigentum. Eigentum verleiht Macht, es schließt aus und reduziert Teilhabe. Über Eigentum zu sprechen heißt private, familiäre, soziale sowie lokale und globale Aspekte zu betrachten. Auch die Kunstproduktion ist nicht losgelöst von ökonomischen Bedingungen und Fragen des Eigentums. Im Hintergrund stehen Selbstausbeutung, Subventionen, das Produzieren von Privilegien oder Altersarmut. Wer kann es sich leisten, Künstler zu sein?
Das Performancekollektiv She She Pop arbeitet zu diesem Thema gemeinsam mit einem Chor von Künstler/innen, der von den koproduzierenden Theatern in den verschiedenen deutschen und europäischen Städten jeweils vor Ort zusammengestellt wird. An jedem Theater entsteht eine eigene Inszenierung, in der die Performerinnen von She She Pop mit dem Chor der gastgebenden Künstler/innen auf der Bühne stehen. She She Pop entwickeln vorab eine Reihe von Fragestellungen sowie musikalische, szenische und choreografische Ansätze. Sie überbringen Fragen und Antworten von Ort zu Ort und lassen auf diese Weise Menschen miteinander sprechen, die sich nie wirklich begegnet sind. Jeder Ort bestimmt den Inhalt: Das können ehemalige sozialistische Städte sein wie Leipzig, Lublin oder Sofia sowie Städte, die zu den scheinbaren Gewinnern des Kapitalismus gehören wie München, Stuttgart oder Basel.
Oratorium ist ein work-in-progress, dessen Premiere 2018 am HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin stattfindet. Eine erste Präsentation war 2017 bei Theaterformen in Hannover zu sehen, weitere Stationen beim Konfrontacje Teatralne Festival in Lublin und dem ACT In-dependent Theater Festival Sofia folgten. Von Hannover aus ging die Produktion auf eine Reise durch Europa, in deren Verlauf sie sich von Station zu Station weiter entwickeln hat zu einer großen vielstimmigen Andacht.

Künstlerische Leitung: She She Pop
Bühne: Sandra Fox
Kostüme: Lea Søvsø
Musik: Max Knoth
Künstlerische Mitarbeit:
Ruschka Steininger
Regieassistenz: Laia Ribera
Technische Leitung & Lichtdesign: Sven Nichterlein
Produktionsleitung: Anne Brammen
Tour-Organisation: Tina Ebert

Von und Mit: Sebastian Bark, Johanna Freiburg, Fanni Halmburger, Lisa Lucassen, Mieke Matzke, Ilia Papatheodorou, Berit Stumpf sowie dem Chor der lokalen Delegierten.


Termine
09.06.2017 - 11.06.2017 Festival Theaterformen, Hannover Showing
09.02.2018 - 12.02.2018 HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin Aufführungen
09.03.2018 - 14.03.2018 Schauspiel Leipzig, Leipzig Aufführungen
23.03.2018 - 25.03.2018 HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin Aufführungen
18.04.2018 - 20.04.2018 Kammerspiele, München Aufführungen
24.05.2018 - 26.05.2018 Kaserne Basel, Basel Aufführungen
23.06.2018 - 24.06.2018 Schauspiel Stuttgart, Stuttgart Aufführungen

Weitere Termine:

Festival Konfrontationen, Lublin: Residenz, Showing 6./7. Oktober 2017
ACT Festival, Sofia: Residenz und Showing 14. November 2017

in Planung:

Onassis-Stiftung, Athen: Aufführungen
Kampnagel Hamburg: Aufführungen