Image and Space

Variétés - Le Surréalisme en 1929, 1929, (known as the Surrealist map of the world), prints, illustrated books, photomechanical reproduction, letterpress

Global Museum

Exhibitions at the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen in Düsseldorf, the Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin and the MMK Frankfurt

In recent years, Western-dominated discourse on contemporary fine arts and modernism has increasingly focused on non-European art trends, and will continue to be influenced by non-Western artists, curators and theorists in the future. With its programme “Global Museum”, the Federal Cultural Foundation aims to strengthen this shift in global thinking and – following the example of institutions in the international and German museum landscape – encourage museums to redefine their collections from a non-Western perspective. In light of how strongly our society is influenced by globalisation, migration and transculturalism, it is essential that art museums participate in shaping these developments and internationalise their collection, research and exhibition practices even more distinctly than before.

The Federal Cultural Foundation is funding projects by the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen in Düsseldorf, the Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin and the MMK Frankfurt, which examine the history of modern art from a global perspective. The purpose is not so much to reveal the shortcomings of the past, but rather to develop a new and complex profile of the respective collections and present a view of what the future of the museums might look like. The results of over three years of work and research will culminate in new presentations of the collections starting in 2017 and will include the museums’ permanent and special exhibition areas to an equal degree. All three projects will highlight their respective collections, on the basis of which they will seek opportunities to incorporate non-Western artistic production.

 

Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen - Excentric Modernity

The research activities and exhibitions on “Global Art” at the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen will concentrate on the period from 1905 to 1945.

More

Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin - Global Resonances

The Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin aims to create a type of ‘retrospective vision’. What might the collection look like today if the museum hadn’t collected its works based almost exclusively or primarily on the developments and trends of modernity and modernism in Germany, Western Europe and North America?

More

MMK, Frankfurt am Main - Global Simultaneities

As part of the “Global Museum” programme, the Museum für moderne Kunst (MMK) in Frankfurt/Main is developing an exhibition project titled “Global Simultaneities” which presents central works of the MMK collection in an intensive, fruitful dialogue with key works of Latin American art.

More

Bild und Raum

Variétés - Le Surréalisme en 1929, 1929, (known as the Surrealist map of the world), prints, illustrated books, photomechanical reproduction, letterpress

Museum Global

Sammlungen des 20. Jahrhunderts in globaler Perspektive

Seit einigen Jahren hat sich der westlich dominierte Diskurs der Bildenden Kunst verstärkt außereuropäischen Entwicklungen in der Gegenwartskunst und der Moderne zugewandt und wird auch in Zukunft von nicht-westlichen Akteuren – Künstlern, Kuratoren und Theoretikern – geprägt sein. Mit ihrem Programm Museum Global möchte die Kulturstiftung des Bundes Impulse für ein solches globales Umdenken und eine Neubestimmung von Sammlungen aus nicht-westlicher Perspektive, die in anderen internationalen Museen bereits praktiziert wird, auch in der deutschen Museumslandschaft verstärken. In unserer von Globalisierung, Migration und Transkulturalität bestimmten Gesellschaft ist es für Kunstmuseen von großer Bedeutung, diese Entwicklungen mitzugestalten und ihre Sammlungs-, Forschungs- und Ausstellungspraxis deutlicher als bisher zu internationalisieren.

Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes fördert deshalb Projekte der Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen Düsseldorf, der Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, und des MMK, Frankfurt am Main, die die Geschichte der modernen Kunst in eine globale Perspektive rücken. Hierbei geht es nicht so sehr darum, Versäumnisse in der Sammlungsgeschichte der Häuser aufzuzeigen, sondern vielmehr ein neues und komplexes Bild der jeweiligen Sammlungen zu entwerfen sowie einen Ausblick auf die Zukunft der Museumseinrichtungen zu unternehmen. Die Ergebnisse der über drei Jahre laufenden Arbeits- und Forschungsprozesse sollen ab dem Jahr 2017 in Neupräsentationen der Sammlungen münden, die in den drei Häusern Dauer- und Sonderausstellungsbereiche gleichermaßen einbeziehen. Gemeinsam ist den drei Ausstellungsvorhaben, dass die eigenen Sammlungen im Vordergrund stehen und auf dieser Grundlage nach Anschlussmöglichkeiten mit nicht-westlicher künstlerischer Produktion gesucht wird. 

 

Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen – Die exzentrische Moderne

Die Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen wird sich in den Forschungen und Ausstellungen zur Globalen Kunst auf den Zeitraum 1905 bis 1945 konzentrieren.

Mehr

Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin – Globale Resonanzen

Die Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, will sich mit der Ausstellung "Globale Resonanzen. Ein Ausstellungsprojekt zur Revision des Museums des 20. Jahrhunderts am Beispiel der Nationalgalerie Berlin" einer Art 'retrospektiven Vision' stellen: Wie könnte die Sammlung heute aussehen?

Mehr

 

MMK, Frankfurt am Main – Eine Geschichte aus zwei Welten

Im Rahmen des Programms „Museum Global“ plant das Museum für moderne Kunst Frankfurt am Main (MMK) die Ausstellung "Eine Geschichte aus zwei Welten", in der Hauptwerke aus der Sammlung des MMK in einen vertiefenden und befruchtenden Dialog mit Schlüsselwerken lateinamerikanischer Kunst treten sollen.

Mehr