Eine Aufführung der Neue Musik AG des Gymnasiums in Grünstadt. Foto: Holger Jung

upgrade – New.Music.Education

Festival congress 2017 in Donaueschingen

Educational projects in the area of New Music have become more and more prevalent in recent years. What new approaches have been established? What do cultural institutions expect to gain from these measures? What does music education of the future look like?

The several-day festival congress “upgrade” addressed these questions and provided an international platform for networking and exchange. The goal of “upgrade” was to present the current range of educational projects in the field of New Music in theory and practice, critically discuss them and develop them further.

Following the focus on instrumental music in 2015, “upgrade” turned its attention to contemporary vocal music. Based on the motto “Voice”, the festival congress in 2017 explored our fascination with this intimate “instrument” and its significance for contemporary music-making.

The congress was open to conductors of choirs and ensembles, educators and vocal instructors, church musicians, students and singers. They were all invited to discuss the possibilities and challenges of vocal expression. The congress included workshops and lectures on various subjects, including the specific requirements of rehearsing for vocal projects, the repertories of amateur ensembles and pilot projects for classroom instruction.

Professional and amateur choirs, vocal ensembles and voice artists were invited to give presentations and concerts which shed light on their work and the diversity of the contemporary vocal repertory. In addition, “upgrade” encouraged exchange between youth ensembles and pupils in music groups at school with experts and performers of New Music.

“upgrade” took place for the first time in 2015 at the Donauhallen in Donaueschingen.

A project by the New Music Network of Baden-Württemberg e.V., the Donaueschingen Society of Friends of Music and the Federal Cultural Foundation.

“upgrade” was a continuation and expansion of the programmes New Music Network and Studio musikFabrik of Cologne, both of which are funded by the Federal Cultural Foundation.

Date
24.03.2017 - 26.03.2017 Donauhallen, Donaueschingen Festival congress

Eine Aufführung der Neue Musik AG des Gymnasiums in Grünstadt. Foto: Holger Jung

upgrade – Neue.Musik.Vermittlung

Festivalkongress 2017 in Donaueschingen

Die Vermittlung Neuer Musik hat in den letzten Jahren an Bedeutung gewonnen. Welche Ansätze haben sich etabliert? Welche Erwartungen knüpfen Kulturinstitutionen an die Vermittlungsarbeit? Wie sieht die Musikpädagogik der Zukunft aus?

Der mehrtägige Festivalkongress „upgrade“ nahm sich dieser Fragen an und schuf eine internationale Plattform für Vernetzung und Austausch. Ziel von „upgrade“ war, in einer engen Verzahnung von Theorie und Praxis die aktuelle Bandbreite an Vermittlungsprojekten im Bereich Neue Musik vorzustellen, kritisch zu diskutieren und weiterzuentwickeln.

Nach dem Fokus auf Instrumentalmusik im Jahr 2015 stand 2017 die zeitgenössische Vokalmusik im Mittelpunkt. Unter dem Motto „Stimme“ erforschte der Festivalkongress die Faszination dieses intimen „Instruments“ und dessen Bedeutung für das zeitgenössische Musizieren.

Der Kongress richtete sich an Chor- und Ensembleleiter/innen, Pädagog/innen und Stimmbildner/innen, an Kirchenmusiker/innen, Studierende und Singende. Sie alle waren eingeladen, sich über die Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen stimmlichen Ausdrucks auszutauschen. In Workshops und Vorträgen informierte der Kongress u.a. über besondere Erfordernisse beim Einstudieren von Vokalprojekten, über Repertoires für Laienensembles oder Pilotprojekte im Schulunterricht.

Zu Gast waren Profi- und Laienchöre, Vokalensembles und Stimmperformer, die mit Präsentationen und Konzerten Einblick in ihre Arbeit und die Vielfalt des zeitgenössischen Vokalrepertoires gaben. Darüber hinaus ermöglichte „upgrade“ den Austausch von Jugendensembles und Schüler-AGs mit Experten und Akteuren der Neuen Musik.

"upgrade" fand erstmals 2015 in den Donauhallen in Donaueschingen statt.

Ein Projekt des Netzwerk Neue Musik Baden-Württemberg e.V., der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde Donaueschingen e.V. und der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

In Fortführung bzw. Ergänzung der Programme Netzwerk Neue Musik und Studio Musikfabrik Köln der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Termine
24.03.2017 - 26.03.2017 Donauhallen, Donaueschingen Festivalkongress