Music and Sound

studio musikFabrik. Foto: Klaus Rudolph

Studio Musikfabrik

New Music

The Federal Cultural Foundation regularly supports projects in the field of new music through major funding programmes and General Project Funding support. Several years ago, the Foundation initiated the New Music Network, a multi-year programme comprised of 15 networks with 255 partners, focused on promoting new music and increasing its popularity nationwide. Although cultivating new talent was always an integral part of the local projects, the New Music Network demonstrated over time that introducing young people to New Music and training them to become tomorrow’s musicians was an essential aspect of musical education in Germany.

Following the successful conclusion of the New Music Network, the Federal Cultural Foundation remains committed to supporting efforts to promote new music. The Foundation launched the model project Studio Musikfabrik, coordinated by the Ensemble musikFabrik of Cologne, to cultivate and train young talent.

The Ensemble musikFabrik is one of the world’s leading ensembles of new music today. Since 1990 the ensemble of soloists has performed unknown pieces and commissioned new compositions, developed in large part in collaboration with the composers and other artists. The list of illustrious figures who have worked with the ensemble include Mark Andre, Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Heiner Goebbels, Toshio Hosokawa, Helmut Lachenmann, Olga Neuwirth, Emmanuel Nunes, Carlus Padrissa (of the theatre company La Fura dels Baus), Sasha Waltz (dance), Rebecca Saunders and Karlheinz Stockhausen. The central aim of the Ensemble musikFabrik is to explore the experimental possibilities of expression in the areas of music and performance. In 2009, the ensemble accepted responsibility of the Studio Musikfabrik, a programme dedicated to training young musicians.

In cooperation with the NRW State Music Council, the ensemble’s professional musicians work together with the State Youth Ensemble. Since 2006, they have helped young musicians (ages 14 to 21), who have participated in the “Jugend musiziert” festival or regularly perform in chamber or state youth ensembles, to become members of the North Rhine-Westphalian State Youth Ensemble and gain experience performing contemporary music in a large ensemble. In the meantime, the State Music Council and the Ensemble musikFabrik have acquired joint responsibility for the State Youth Ensemble. For the young musicians, the affiliation with a professional ensemble offers enormous opportunities for professional development. Not only are they trained in performance techniques and interpretation of new music, but also gain first-hand experience with the day-to-day activities in a professional ensemble of new music.

The NRW State Music Council and the Ensemble musikFabrik have established the basic structure of their cooperation with financial resources of their own. In two brief rehearsal phases, they have succeeded in producing five to seven concerts per season, though only in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia and without any significant publicity measures. With additional support from the state of NRW and other sponsors, the Federal Cultural Foundation offered its support to intensify this collaborative project. The funding primarily went toward lengthening the rehearsal and training period with the professional musicians, increasing the number of public performances, enhancing the young musicians’ artistic experience, and offering them the chance to make national and international contacts. The Federal Cultural Foundation committed to ensuring that the state of North Rhine-Westphalia will continue supporting the Studio Musikfabrik after the Foundation’s project-funding period concludes.

The Federal Cultural Foundation allocated a total of 320,000 euros to fund the Studio Musikfabrik project from 2013 to 2016.

Musik und Klang

studio musikFabrik. Foto: Klaus Rudolph

Studio Musikfabrik

Vermittlung Neuer Musik

Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes unterstützte bisher sowohl in der offenen Förderung als auch in ihren Programmen regelmäßig Projekte der Neuen Musik. Mit dem mehrjährigen Programm Netzwerk Neue Musik, das 2011 auslief, hat die Stiftung zudem die Vermittlung in den Fokus gerückt und in fünfzehn Netzwerken mit über 255 Partnern bundesweit neue Publikumsgruppen für Neue Musik begeistern können. Obwohl die Nachwuchsarbeit auch Teil der dortigen Vermittlungsprojekte war, verdichtete sich im Zuge der Initiative Netzwerk Neue Musik die Erkenntnis, dass die Beschäftigung junger Menschen mit Neuer Musik einen wichtigen Baustein musikalischer Bildung in Deutschland darstellt.

Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss des Programms Netzwerk Neue Musik engagiert sich die Kulturstiftung des Bundes auch weiterhin im Bereich Vermittlung Neuer Musik. Mit Studio Musikfabrik hat sie dafür ein modellhaftes Projekt zur Nachwuchsförderung des Kölner Ensemble musikFabrik ausgewählt und für einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren gefördert.

Das Ensemble musikFabrik gehört international zu den führenden Klangkörpern auf dem Gebiet der Neuen Musik. Das Solistenensemble realisiert seit 1990 unbekannte, neue sowie in Auftrag gegebene Kompositionen, die zumeist in Zusammenarbeit mit den Komponisten und anderen Künstler/innen erarbeitet werden. Die Liste der Persönlichkeiten reicht von Mark Andre über Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Heiner Goebbels, Toshio Hosokawa, Helmut Lachenmann, Olga Neuwirth und Emmanuel Nunes bis zu Carlus Padrissa (Theatergruppe La Fura dels Baus), Sasha Waltz (Tanz), Rebecca Saunders oder Karlheinz Stockhausen. Das zentrale Anliegen der musikFabrik liegt in der Auseinandersetzung mit experimentellen Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten in den Bereichen Musik und Performance. Unter dem Label Studio Musikfabrik widmet sich das Ensemble musikFabrik nun seit 2009 verstärkt der Arbeit mit jugendlichen Musiker/innen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Landesmusikrat NRW begleiten die Profis das Landesjugendensemble. Bereits seit 2006 können junge Musiker zwischen 14 und 21 Jahren, die an „Jugend musiziert“ teilgenommen haben oder in Kammer- oder Landesjugendensembles spielen, unter fachkundiger Anleitung beim Landesjugendensemble für Neue Musik in Nordrhein-Westfalen Mitglied werden und erste Erfahrungen mit zeitgenössischer Musik in einer größeren Besetzung sammeln. Inzwischen ist das Landesjugendensemble in die gemeinsame Trägerschaft von Landesmusikrat und Ensemble musikFabrik übergegangen. Diese Angliederung an ein professionelles Ensemble birgt für die jungen Musiker/innen enorme künstlerische Entwicklungschancen: Sie werden nicht nur in Spieltechniken und Interpretationen Neuer Musik unterrichtet, sondern erhalten auch Einblick in den Alltag eines professionell arbeitenden Ensembles für Neue Musik.

Grundlegende Strukturen der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jugendensemble sind mit Eigenmitteln des Landesmusikrats NRW und des Ensembles musikFabrik bereits gelegt worden. So konnten bisher immerhin zwei kurze Arbeitsphasen mit etwa fünf bis sieben Konzerten realisiert werden, die im Wesentlichen jedoch ausschließlich in NRW und ohne nennenswerte eigene Öffentlichkeitsarbeit stattfanden. Mit Hilfe der Förderung durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, mit Unterstützung aus dem Land NRW und weiterer Förderer konnte nun die Zusammenarbeit intensiviert werden. Dabei ging es insbesondere darum, die Proben- und Betreuungszeit mit den Profimusikern auszubauen sowie die Anzahl öffentlicher Auftritte zu erhöhen, um die künstlerischen Erfahrungen der Nachwuchsmusiker zu vergrößern und ihnen nationale wie internationale Kontakte zu eröffnen. Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes hat sich dafür eingesetzt, dass das Land NRW das Studio Musikfabrik nach Beendigung der Projektförderung weiter unterstützt.

Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes förderte das Projekt Studio Musikfabrik in den Jahren 2013 bis 2016 mit insgesamt 320.000 Euro.