Tafawa Balewa Square, 2014. Foto: Emeka Ogboh

That, Around Which The Universe Revolves

Rhythm analysis and urban spaces in Lagos, Harare, Berlin, Düsseldorf and Hamburg – funded by the TURN Fund

Rhythm exists wherever space, time and energy intersect, according to the late French sociologist and philosopher Henri Lefebvre in his book Rhythmanalysis. Rhythm is an inherent part of our everyday life, in our movements through space and our interaction with objects. Societies produce such collective knowledge and memory which can be experienced and described using Lefebvre’s concept of rhythm analysis.

Lefebvre’s reflections on the politics, production and representation of spaces serve as the starting point of the research and exhibition project “That, Around Which The Universe Revolves” by SAVVY Contemporary Berlin. In cooperation with the QDance Center in Lagos, the Njelele Art Station in Harare, the FFT in Düsseldorf, the HAU Hebbel am Ufer and Kampnagel Hamburg, the project aims to create links between urban forms of knowledge and narratives in Nigeria, Zimbabwe and Germany.

The organisers are planning a series of exhibitions, performances, discussion programmes and five chapters of text in Berlin, Lagos, Harare, Hamburg and Düsseldorf. The five cities will become sites of experimentation, in which international artists, performers, theorists and architects engage in academic and artistic dialogue and probe the spatial dimension of everyday urban life and the interplay between the body, rhythm and urban structures.

Artistic director: Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung (CM)
Curators: Elena Agudio (IT), Anna Jäger (DE), Saskia Köbschall (DE), Dana Whabira (ZW), Qudus Onikeku (NG)

Date

Dates and venues

Qdance Centre (Lagos): first week of October 2016 – performative interventions

FFT (Düsseldorf): March 2017 – performative interventions & residences

Njelele Art Station (Harare): August 2017 – performative interventions

Kampnagel (Hamburg): October 2017 – performative interventions & discussion programme

HAU (Berlin): 1. - 3. December 2017 – performative interventions

SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin): 30. November 2017 - January 2018 – exhibition, discussion and performance programme

Tafawa Balewa Square, 2014. Foto: Emeka Ogboh

That, Around Which The Universe Revolves

Rhythmusanalyse und urbane Räume in Lagos, Harare, Berlin, Düsseldorf und Hamburg – gefördert im Fonds TURN

Rhythmus sei überall dort, wo Ort, Zeit und Energie zusammenwirken, heißt es in dem posthum erschienenen Buch „Rhythmusanalyse“ des französischen Soziologen und Philosophen Henri Lefebvre. Rhythmus sei in unserem Alltag inhärent, in unseren Bewegungen durch den Raum und unserem Umgang mit Gegenständen. Gesellschaften bringen so ein kollektives Wissen und Gedächtnis hervor, das sich durch Lefebvres Konzept der Rhythmusanalyse erfahren und beschreiben lässt.

Lefebvres Überlegungen zur Politik, Produktion und Repräsentation von Räumen bilden den Ausgangspunkt des Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojektes „That, Around Which The Universe Revolves“ von SAVVY Contemporary Berlin, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem QDance Center in Lagos, dem FFT in Düsseldorf, der Njelele Art Station in Harare, dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer und Kampnagel Hamburg urbane Wissensformen und Geschichten in Nigeria, Zimbabwe und Deutschland in Verbindung bringt.

Geplant sind eine Reihe von Ausstellungen, Performances, Diskursprogrammen und Texten in fünf Kapiteln in Berlin, Düsseldorf, Lagos, Harare und Hamburg. Die fünf Städte werden dabei zu Experimentierfeldern, in denen internationale Künstler, Performer, Theoretiker und Architekten in einen wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Dialog treten und die zeitliche und räumliche Dimension des alltäglichen urbanen Lebens sowie das Beziehungsgeflecht von Körper, Rhythmus und städtischen Strukturen erforschen.

Künstlerische Leitung: Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung (CM)
Kuratorinnen: Elena Agudio (IT), Anna Jäger (DE), Saskia Köbschall (DE), Dana Whabira (ZW), Qudus Onikeku (NG)

Termine
30.11.2017 - 28.01.2018 SAVVY Contemporary / HAU Hebbel am Ufer (1.-3.12.2017), Berlin Ausstellung und Performances
19.10.2017 - 21.10.2017 Kampnagel, Hamburg Ausstellung und Performances
23.03.2017 - 26.03.2017 FFT Düsseldorf und öffentlicher Raum, Düsseldorf Ausstellung und Performances

Termine

Qdance Centre (Lagos): Erste Woche im Oktober 2016 - Performative Interventionen

FFT (Düsseldorf): März 2017 - Performative Interventionen & Residenzen

Njelele Art Station (Harare): August 2016 - Performative Interventionen

Kampnagel (Hamburg): Oktober 2017 - Performative Interventionen & Diskursprogramm

HAU (Berlin): Dezember 2017 - Performative Interventionen

SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin) : Ende November 2017 bis Ende Januar 2018 - Ausstellung, Diskurs- und Performanceprogramm